FSU football: 5 greatest Noles to never win Heisman Trophy

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse
fsu football

(Photo by Omar Rawlings/Getty Images)

FSU football had produced three Heisman Trophy winners in the past 26 years. Here are the top five Noles that never won the award.

FSU football and the Heisman Trophy have a lot of history together in a short amount of time. The award is supposed to granted to the most outstanding NCAA player in the nation, displaying diligence, perseverance, and hard work.

Notice, the award goes to the most outstanding NCAA player and not the best player in the nation.

The Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award honor the best player in the nation, and FSU had two players to earn those honors. Charlie Ward won the Heisman, Maxwell, and Walter Camp Awards in 1993. Jameis Winston won the Heisman and Walter Camp Awards in 2013.

FSU football has produced 219 All-Americans, 38 consensus All-Americans, and two-time consensus All-Americans.

Unbelievably, the Noles have only had three Heisman Trophy winners out of all of that talent. The eye-raising thing is the award has tended to go to a player on a team with the chance of winning a national championship. FSU football had a stretch of 14 straight years of finishing top-five, which only produced two Heisman Trophy winners in Charlie Ward and Chris Weinke.

Here are five of the best FSU football players to never win the award.

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse
Load Comments