Richard Mackson-USA TODAY Sports

Nine Seminoles selected to Preseason All-ACC Team

The defending ACC and national champion Florida State Seminoles continue to rake in the honors, recently having nine players named to the preseason All-ACC team by members of the media in attendance at the conference’s kickoff event held Sunday and Monday.

FSU’s representation is more than twice any other ACC school (Duke comes in second, placing four players on the team), and their six offensive players named comprise the majority of that squad. Leading that list is the reigning ACC Player of the Year and Heisman Trophy winner, redshirt sophomore Jameis Winston, who was named on 97 of 99 ballots (which certainly prompts the question, given the league’s mediocre quarterback depth: who got the other two votes?).

Winston is joined by senior tight end and Mackey Award Finalist Nick O’Leary (86 votes), Winston’s blindside protector, redshirt senior left tackle Cameron Erving (82 votes), senior standout right guard Tre’ Jackson (82 votes), senior go-to wide receiver Rashad Greene (56 votes) and senior safety turned running back Karlos Williams (37 votes). Williams’ inclusion on the team along with an established star like Miami’s Duke Johnson is certainly a referendum on the expectations he’s facing coming into the season.

Florida State has a pair of players on the defensive team as well. Junior defensive end Mario Edwards, Jr., who put on a show in the national championship game, garnered 66 votes, and junior cornerback P.J. Williams, who, along with Winston represented the ‘Noles at the event, made the squad with 60 votes.

Rounding out the team is FSU’s sophomore kicker, Roberto Aguayo, who made every kick save one last season.

Next Seminoles Game Full schedule »
Saturday, Nov 88 Nov6:30Virginia CavaliersBuy Tickets

Tags: Cameron Erving Florida State Seminoles Jameis Winston Karlos Williams Mario Edwards Jr. Nick O'Leary P.J. Williams Rashad Greene Roberto Aguayo Tre' Jackson

comments powered by Disqus