Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Florida State places Two on Walter Camp Award Watch List

A pair of Florida State Seminoles have found their way onto the Walter Camp Award Watch List, which was just released. Quarterback Jameis Winston captured the prize after his Heisman-winning campaign last season and headlines the list of 50 players on the preseason watch list. Joining him from FSU is a player absolutely integral to his success– left tackle Cameron Erving.

Erving is the anchor of the Seminoles’ accomplished offensive line that returns four starters. Like Winston, whose blindside he protects, he’s an All-ACC and All-American performer, but unlike the ‘Nole signal caller, there’s no discussion as to whether or not he’ll go pro. The senior is playing his final year with FSU and could well be the top left tackle taken in next year’s NFL Draft.

Per the Walter Camp Football Foundation website,

The Walter Camp Trophy is awarded to the outstanding player of the year who has exemplified the qualities of self-discipline, unselfish team play, desire to excel, mature judgement and respect for leadership. He must be a dedicated competitor who has made effective use of his athletic talent to enhance the great American game of college football. His standout performance on the playing field must be accompanied by an equally strong effort to contribute to the betterment of the life of all his fellow human beings. He must exhibit an awareness of the need to fulfill his role as a leader. He must espouse the ideals adhered to by Walter Camp, the “Father of American Football.”

The Camp Award is one of the older awards, having been given out since 1967. Other than Winston last year, the only other ‘Nole to secure the honor was Charlie Ward in 1993. No offensive lineman has ever won the Camp Award.

Tags: Cameron Erving Florida State Seminoles Jameis Winston

comments powered by Disqus