Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

FSU places Trio on Maxwell Award Watch List

Three Florida State Seminoles are on the preseason Maxwell Award Watch List, which was released today and is comprised of 76 players. Senior wide receiver Rashad Greene, senior running back Karlos Williams, and sophomore quarterback Jameis Winston all made the cut for this honor bestowed by the Maxwell Football Club upon the College Player of the Year since 1937.

This is familiar territory for Winston, last year’s Heisman Trophy winner: he was a finalist for the prize, which wound up going to Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron. The ‘Noles placing three players on the list is tied for second highest in the country– only Alabama has more, with four. The award is voted upon by sportswriters, sportscasters, NCAA coaches, and the Maxwell Football Club’s membership.

These Florida State players should get used to seeing their names on watch lists like this, as they all undoubtedly will be mentioned regarding their specific position awards (the Fred Biletnikoff Award for WRs, the Doak Walker Award for RBs, and the Davey O’Brien Award for QBs). Those watch lists will appear within the next two weeks.

Winston certainly seems to have the best shot at the award out of these ‘Noles, but Greene and Williams find themselves in what could be very favorable situations, regarding individual production: they each head up a position group including several inexperienced players. As is the case, they’ll be looked to early and often to steady the Seminole offense.

FSU has one Maxwell Award already in its trophy case: Charlie Ward secured the honor after the Seminoles’ national championship run in 1993.

Next Seminoles Game Full schedule »
Thursday, Oct 3030 Oct7:30at Louisville CardinalsBuy Tickets

Tags: Florida State Seminoles Jameis Winston Karlos Williams Rashad Greene

comments powered by Disqus